Celebrating staff excellence at UBC

People and Places | Strategy 1: Great People
Theme: Collaboration

In support of Strategy 1: Great People, and UBC’s goal to attract, engage and retain a diverse global community, it is important to recognize the outstanding achievements and contributions of our faculty and staff.

Whether it’s advancing diversity and inclusion across campus, enhancing the UBC experience, providing leadership to colleagues and students, or contributing to campus spirit, the recipients of this year’s President’s Service Award for Excellence, the UBC Vancouver President’s Staff Awards and the UBC Okanagan Staff Awards of Excellence exemplify UBC’s values in action.

President’s Service Awards for Excellence

The President’s Service Awards for Excellence are presented each year to up to outstanding staff members who have made outstanding contributions to UBC, and who excel in their personal achievements.

This year’s recipients are:

  • Tamara Baldwin, Director, Office of Regional and International Community Engagement & Acting Assistant Director, School of Public Policy and Global Affairs
  • Rohene Bouajram, Associate Director, Strategic IBPOC Initiatives, Office of the VP Students
  • Cheryl Niamath, Communications and Administrative Manager, International Collaboration on Repair Discoveries
  • Amy Perreault (Bae), Senior Strategist, Indigenous Initiatives, Centre for Teaching, Learning, and Technology

UBC Vancouver President’s Staff Awards

The President’s Staff Awards at the Vancouver campus recognize the personal achievements and contributions that our staff make to UBC, and to the vision and goals of the university. Visit the Focus on People website to read this year’s citations.

This year’s recipients are:


  • George Firican, Director, Data Governance and Business Intelligence, Development & Alumni Engagement
  • Lani McGill, Human Resources Product Manager, Integrated Service Centre

Emerging Leadership

  • Letitia Englund, Programmer Analyst II, Centre for Teaching, Learning and Technology
  • Hélène Frohard-Dourlent, Strategist, Equity and Inclusion Office

Advancing Anti-Racism and Inclusive Excellence

  • Tiffany Hill, Research Analyst, Department of Family Practice – Innovation Support Unit
  • Emi Sasagawa, Communications Manager, Graduate and Postdoctoral Studies

Community Engagement

  • Tze Hern (Caden) Poh, Research Coordinator, Department of Psychiatry, Faculty of Medicine
  • Yukiko Stranger-Galey, Exhibit & Design Manager, Beaty Biodiversity Museum

Enhancing the UBC Experience

  • Jennifer Chin, Associate Registrar & Director, Enrolment Services, and the Student Support and Advising Team
  • Ross Sheppard, Manager, Student Services and Engagement, Electrical and Computer Engineering

Creativity and Innovation

  • Ryan Thomson, Systems Architect, Advanced Research Computing, VP Research and Innovation
  • Nickoletta (Niki) Giannopoulos, Flexible Enhanced Learning Provincial Manager, UBC Undergraduate Medical School


  • Eli Koleva, Executive Coordinator, Faculty Affairs, Dean’s Office, Faculty of Forestry
  • Andrea Reynolds, Manager, Student Academic Services, School of Public Policy and Global Affairs

Visit the Focus on People website to read this year’s citations.

UBC Okanagan Staff Awards of Excellence

At this year’s annual Deputy Vice-Chancellor and Principal’s Fall Town Hall, a number of employees were recognized for their outstanding service to the university though the Staff Awards of Excellence.

This year’s recipients are:

Enhancing the UBC Experience

  • Joel Thiessen, Senior Emerging and Digital Media Specialist, UBC Studios
  • Lucia Boersma, Assistant to the Director, Athletics and Recreation


  • Phil Bond, Senior Manager, Student Development and Advising
  • Roger Wilson, Director, Health and Wellness

Okanagan Campus Spirit

  • International Programs & Services (IPS) team
  • Facilities Service Worker (FSW) team

Visit the UBC Okanagan news page to read the citations.

Congratulations to everyone recognized this year for the significant impacts they have made to UBC.